top of page
  • surfthesnow13

Maybe it's Maybelline! Or maybe it's just me.


This post isn't about what you might think.

Sure, I am not into makeup, but that's because:

A) My Mum never owned any so I know that life without is possible (and saves dolleros!)

B) I like being able to get ready in <5mins for whatever comes up- a wedding, training session, work or lifegroup. Pick an outfit, twist up hair- Done!

C) I get a fright looking in the mirror if I get makeup applied ... often by insisting friends for a ball, haha... scary times! I just don't recognise myself and/or just look plain frightening, eek, hehe! :P :D

D) Would hate for my eventual husband to get a heart a attack seeing what I actually look like without makeup, ahaha! Would rather people know me at face value straight up, hehe.

^I rest my case, hehehehe

But aaaanyways, off topic.

No, I am not going to be talking about makeup.

I want to talk about covering things up in our lives- maybe even the things that define us most.

I don't cover myself up with makeup, BUT I HAVE COVERED MY INSECURITIES UP with layers of hard work, ambition & achievement, healthy eating, fitness, branded clothes, colourful tri suits (not that thye hide much, jeeeepers, hahah!), sunnies, laughs for all/any reason and smiles on all occasions.

Lately though, the tears have been piercing through and trying to compete with the laughter tally.

Get outta here tears, not welcome guys, I think to myself. I can't afford tears spilling out reducing my hydration levles if I am to perform in my next training session or race, right!?

But yeah cover ups have become too overwhelming and left me suffocating and crying out. I want to breathe freely again. I want to know why I used to laugh and smile without needing a reason... I need to stop all the tiring cover ups.

Cover ups with natural makeup suck- if they are covering the feeling of inadequacy in what is actually natural. The marketing of "natural look" makeup is something that turns my smile upside down...

....because covering up ourselves is unnatural and all coverups lead to dropping freedom levels.

I'm not saying that natural parts of us are inadequate, ugly even, but covering them up does not make them adequate or beautiful- but they put a level of shame and over time make you afraid of showing the real stuff!! And the real stuff is totally best stuff about you!

There's something awesome but being naturally yourself, whether you look naturally hilarious one day (like those I-just-woke-up good looks, hehehe, they're pretty epic right!?... hair ignoring gravity etc) or naturally glowing after a great sleep and a day of fun and being productive working for something of meaning.

If you're going to wear Maybelline, maybe go all out with colours, texture, swirls, glitters, etc (...Hunger Games has some inspo for ya ;) ) and then enjoy wearing it! Run wild, live free, love strong!

You guys are the coolest versions of you I have EVER MET!... Serious! Hehe :P

Can't wait to meet you again soon with your running. living and loving on full volume. Bro / Sis this is going to be good!

Freeeeedom. God defend our freeee land, we sung our whole childhood, and He has, so let's live like it's true. I am going to stop trapping myself, stopping myself, covering up... Join me in journeying

#we'refreeeebroskis

Keep me updated!


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page